SDPRA award nominations are open year-round

The association’s annual awards to recognize greatness take place in the fall, but you know someone doing something amazing now. We want to hear about it! We accept nominations throughout the year, so get in the habit of filling out a nomination form while it’s fresh in your mind. The guidelines have recently changed, opening eligibility up to even more or our members. Make a nomination

North Face Explore Fund grants open

The North Face Explore Fund grant is now accepting applications for nonprofits working in innovative ways to increase outdoor participation, accessibility, and protection of the environment. Since 2010, The North Face Explore Fund has provided up to $500k annually to support these programs. Learn more about the criteria and apply online. The application deadline is April 5.

Meet Me at the Park play spaces grants now available

For the second year, NRPA and The Walt Disney Co. are coming together to invest in innovative play spaces and promote healthy living with the goal to provide one million kids and families with greater access to play. Park and recreation agencies in all 50 states, including the District of Columbia and US territories, are invited to share their best ideas on increasing access to play spaces for children and families. Agencies with the most innovative and impactful project ideas will receive $30,000 grants to implement their projects. Applications are due March 1. Read more…

Yankton to host 2018 Midwest Region Parks and Recreation Conference April 23, 24, 25.

The City of Yankton, SD, will host the Midwest Region Parks and Recreation Conference April 23-25, 2018. Parks and Recreation professionals from the six state area (South Dakota, Nebraska, Kansas, Colorado, Wyoming, North Dakota) will attend.

The Conference will be held in the world’s premier indoor archery training and competition facility, Read more…

Funding available for trails

Applications are being accepted for grants from the Recreation Trails Program, which provides partial reimbursement for approved trail projects. Eligible projects include construction of new public trails, rehabilitation of existing public trails, development of trail-related facilities and educational programs that relate to recreational trails. The grants are available for trail projects sponsored by municipalities, counties, state parks, federal land management agencies or tribal governments. Application packets are available online from the Game, Fish and Parks website. The application deadline is Friday, April 27, 2018.